Wednesday, 29 May 2013

Olo Cup Champions!

Seven years after our last success in the legendary Olo Cup, Patrickswell N.S. are Olo Cup champions again! In the Gaelic Grounds today, a Patrickswell team full of grit, determination and talent battled their way to a thrilling 3-6 to 1-2 victory over their much fancied rivals, Scoil Chíiost Rí from Caherdavin, home of Na Piarsaigh GAA Club.
Scoil Chríost Rí settled first and had 2 points on the scoreboard before the Well had time to draw a breath but the boys from Patrickswell soon came to terms with the challenge in front of them and slowly but surely they started to gain the upper hand in key areas. A free, won in midfield and taken by Calvin Carroll was saved well by the Caherdavin goalkeeper but Cian Fitzgerald was on hand to flick the rebound to the net and, all of a sudden, the Well were in front. A superb point by Clive Kirby who was picked out very cleverly by goalie, Paul Buston completed the scoring in the first half.
Half time score: Patrickswell 1-1; Scoil Chríost Rí  0-2
The Well had the breeze in the second half but it was Caherdavin who scored first after the break. Their goal was a replica of the one scored by Cian Fitzgerald in the first half. The mighty boys from Patrickswell were behind again but, undaunted, they stuck to their game-plan and got themselves back in the driving seat. They hooked and harried, blocked, ducked and dived--and did whatever was necessary to turn the game in their favour. A pointed free by Calvin Carroll had the sides level six minutes into the second half. Carroll and captain, Adam Carrig were dominating the midfield exchanges at this stage and it was no surprise that the next two scores came from Patrickswell players Clive Kirby and Calvin Carroll, who scored a point each.
Every Caherdavin attack was quelled by the superb Well defenders--Neil Byrnes, Tomas Crowe and Martin Murray in the full back line and Adam Carrig, Cormac Kerins and Patrick Kirby in the half back line. Further success was built on that strong foundation when Carrig scored a fine long range point and then Clive Kirby hit an unstoppable ball to the net to put daylight between the teams. Another point from a free by Carroll saw the Well take a 2-6 to 1-2 lead into the final five minutes. The Well played with the same energy and enthusiasm in those final five minutes as they had throughout this close and hard-fought match. Aaron O Shea worked tirelessly in midfield whille Cian Enright did well on the wing, The icing on the cake was the result of a lot of hard work and an equal amount of cuteness from forwards, Niall Kerins, Cian Fitzgerald, P,J. Foley and John Kirby--the boy from 3rd Class who scored the goal that sealed victory for his school in the City U-13 A Primary Schools Hurling Championship!
This was Patrickswell's 8th Olo Cup success--and another famous day in the school's proud history.

Team: Paul Buston, Martin Murray, Neil Byrnes, Tomás Crowe, Patrick Kirby, Adam Carrig (0-1), Cormac Kerins, Calvin Carroll (0-3), Aaron O Shea, Niall Kerins , Clive Kirby (1-2), Cian Enright, John Kirby (1-0), Cian Fitzgerald (1-0), P.J. Foley.  Subs Jordan McCarthy, Darren O Flaherty, Kyle McCarthy, Cian Gorman, Nathan McGrath

No comments:

Post a Comment